Octohawk - 'Animist'

Artist: Octohawk
Title: Animist
Catalog no.: 20.0035
  • Digipak CD
  • Digital Download
Release date: 04.06.2021
Genre: Sludgy, Proggy, and Groovy Heavy Metal
Country: Norway
BUY:  Buy physical editions
  Buy digital download


An animist perceives all things - animals, plants, rocks, rivers, oceans, and mountains - as animated, and it all comes to life in Octohawk’s debut album. 
With Animist, the Norwegian 5-piece denotes not a single creed or doctrine but a diverse otherworldly landscape of progressive, melodic, and abrasive music. Filled with thundering beats, heavy riffs, ripping vocals, and entrancing soundscapes, Animist represents the shapeless nature of real chaos. 
The album, comprised of 10 crushing tracks, is an eventful experience. Rich in content and surprises, this album will delight all fans of sludgy, proggy, and groovy heavy metal.
Detached from all boundaries, Animist soars through many metal genres - seamlessly from powerful to ethereal and back with dual momentum. 
With their debut album Animist, Octohawk lays down a solid foundation for their musical universe.

Produced by Octohawk.
Mixed and mastered by Kjetil Ottersen at Vektor Facilities.
Drums recorded by Christian Paulsen & Roy André Berget.
Music and Lyrics by Octohawk.
Design by Stian Svorkmo.



Track: Duration:
1.   Weather the Storm   7:30
2.   Eyes Glowing Red   5:13
3.   Iconoclast   8:01
4.   Origin   5:20
5.   Ferocious   5:06
6.   By the Root   5:32
7.   Redemption   2:20
8.   Reanimate   8:03
9.   Skyward   7:05
10.   Ancestor   8:45


Line up: 

David Jøndahl Hjellum   Drums
Christian Schei   Guitar
Stian Svorkmo   Vocal and Guitar
Steffen Overaa   Synth and Vocal
Espen Geitsund   Bass



Interview-requests, promo-pictures, etc.: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.