Vitam Aeternam - 'The Self-Aware Frequency'

Artist: Vitam Aeternam
Title: The Self-Aware Frequency
Catalogno.: 20.0026
  • Limited CD Mediabook (500)
  • Limited Gatefold Gold LP (300)
  • Digital Download
Release date: 23.10.2020
Genre: Gothic Metal
Country: Norway
BUY: Buy physical editions.
  Buy digital downloads.

The promise of Eternal Life has been the crucial subject in which numerous religions and spiritual beliefs have based their foundations on. For the idea of non-existence is as troubling and inconceivable for humans as infinite itself, on the other hand, the thought of interminably experiencing more from a reality we are so accustomed to brings comfort to more than one soul. Innocence is bliss, and being forever shields us from turning our eyes to the dreadful horror of the unknown, the black pit of nothingness, the void. But it's within its contemplation that lies the secret knowledge.

"The Self-Aware Frequency", explores the mind of a cognizant being trapped within the cosmically interwoven pattern that embeds reality. The character's universe is the music itself, through which it navigates, as a sum of temporal frequencies who slowly gain consciousness, evolving across the songs, until the ultimate realization of its own undeniable truth.

The album combines elements of electronic, industrial, classical, film score, heavy metal, progressive rock, and even pop to create something unique, challenging, and engaging. Fans of forward-thinking artists such as Devil Doll, Mike Patton, Leprous, Ulver, Manes, Pain of Salvation, Sleepytime Gorilla Museum, Devin Townsend, Vulture Industries, and Arcturus should rejoice in the musical world illuminated throughout the album.

International guest appearances are performed by Bor Zuljan (Devil Doll), Øyvind "Mustis" Mustaparta (ex-Dimmu Borgir), Juan Manuel Flores (Cuarteto Cromano), Goran Setitus (Omnia Moritur, ex-Setherial), Alasdair Dunn (Ashenspire), Przemyslaw Kajnat (Eternal Deformity, Allone), and Lotti Wood (Woodwindz).



Track: Duration:   CD:   LP:
1.   Born   2:41   CD1-1   A1
2.   Coward   6:40   CD1-2   A2
3.   Becoming   0:51   CD1-3   A3
4.   Human   7:00   CD1-4   A4
5.   Arising    0:52   CD1-5   A5 
6.   Death    2:15   CD1-6    B1 
7.   God Machine    9:33   CD1-7    B2 
8.   Transcending    1:04   CD1-8    B3 
9.   Viral Idea    4:52   CD1-9    B4 


Line up:

Jake Rosenberg   Keyboards, Piano, Programming, Sampling
Râhoola   Vox, Choir, Keyboards, Piano, Orchestration, Programming, and Sound Design
André Aaslie   Piano, Orchestration, Moog, Mellotron


Music by Vitam Aeternam
Concept & Lyrics by Râhoola

Special Guest Collaborators:
Bor Zuljan (Devil Doll) - Electric and Acoustic Guitars
Øyvind “Mustis” Mustaparta (ex-Dimmu Borgir) - Piano on “Death”
Juan Manuel Flores (Cuarteto Cromano) - Violin
Goran Setitus (Omnia Moritur, ex-Setherial), Alasdair Dunn (Ashenspire), Przemyslaw Kajnat (Eternal Deformity, Allone), and Lotti Wood (Woodwindz) - Choir on “Transcending”

Recorded between September and November 2019 in the following studios:
KVLTe Fish Studios - U.S.

Mixed by Râhoola @ CIRCO DENSO
Mastered by Charles A. Leal @ PSICOFONIA STUDIO (Monterrey, N.L. México) [CD & DIGITAL]
Mastered by Kjetil Ottersen [VINYL]

Artwork by Sué Monserrat Jacomé Lugo
Graphic Design by Râhoola



Interview-requests, promo-pictures, etc.: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.